Spring Cleaning

Posted on

Happy May, SMU! It’s that time of the year again where people say their goodbyes (many call it “see-you-laters”), pack up their rooms, and in the midst of finals, get ready to go back home. Although we haven’t had the sunniest of Spring seasons, it’s nice to see the leaves on the trees finally come back and flowers begin to emerge. Just as Washington finishes up its Spring cleaning, so should we. Through all of the bittersweetness of leaving campus for the summer, we must sort through all of the memories and friendships that we have made. Throughout the year, I have discovered more about what my role at SMU and how I can apply it to my future, I have made and lost my fair share of friendships, but that is how life goes. To me, it’s really important to keep those collections of meaningful relationships and memories that have shaped me into the person who I am today and share them with you. Saint Martin’s University has been a huge part of my life, and although this year has had its highs and lows, it is critical to recap the year so that I can carry these experiences forward.

IMG_2002.JPG
Through our new role as Norcia Mentors, we arrived early to begin training. We bonded to make our team strong, and eagerly waited to finally welcome our new first-year students.
IMG_2108.JPG
I couldn’t wait to get to know my two mentees, Michael and Hanna, and help them through their first year of college.
IMG_2229
Since we live in an area that is surrounded by many things to do, during the fall, a couple of my close friends and I went to the Washington State Fair and attended the Andy Grammer, Gavin Degraw concert. We even got to meet one of our new favorite artists!
IMG_2331.JPG
One of my favorite things to do in Washington is going to Seattle Mariner’s games at Safeco Field! Fellow Social Squad member, Andrew Walter, and I even went to game #162 and sported our King Felix attire.
IMG_2418.JPG
One of the new traditions at our university is Family Weekend! So happy that my mom was able to come up from California and visit!
  • This year’s annual gala was a hit! Getting the opportunity to cover the event was such a great opportunity and I had so much fun doing it!
IMG_9105
As part of the Norcia Leadership Community floor, several of us went to Portland, Oregon to complete a service immersion trip. It was a great bonding experience and a wonderful opportunity to serve others.

 

IMG_2878.png
THIS WINTER IT SNOWED! I have never been in snow before, and I was lucky enough to experience it with my friends.

 

 

IMG_5530.jpeg
Softball is a huge part of my life, and this season was exciting to share with my teammates!
IMG_4331.JPG
Two of my best friends and some of my classmates shared their talents at the Hope Concert this Spring.
IMG_4676.PNG
Preparing for my study abroad trip has been super exciting! The days to leave are get smaller, and I have loved getting to know my classmates. Here is an ad from when we fundraised together!

 

 

IMG_6307.jpeg
SMU Women’s Softball hosted the GNAC championships tournament this year! It was so much fun getting to compete for a title on our home field! This is a picture of us in Turlock after we beat Cal State East Bay.
IMG_4649.PNG
… finally, I’d love to mention that I’ve finally completed a full year of being on the Social Squad! The newest campaign, #OnWednesdaysWeWearRed has been so exciting to participate in every week!

I’ve learned more about my leadership style, my purpose at SMU, and who I want to be this year, and I can’t wait to see what the future holds. I’m halfway through my time at SMU, and I plan on taking every opportunity that comes my way, and I hope that you do too. What’s next for me? Well, this summer I will be taking my study abroad trip to Norway, Finland, Iceland, and Sweden, then I will go back home to California, and before school starts, I will be helping out as an orientation leader! I’m super excited to be back on campus next semester, and share with you the rest of my study abroad journey. That’s all for now, and I hope you all have a great summer!

~Lauren

 

 

Leave a Reply

